Low and Moderate Income Homes by Community

The Rhode Island Comprehensive Housing Production and Rehabilitation Act of 2004 and Rhode Island Low and Moderate Income Housing Act (Rhode Island General Laws 45-53) general requires that 10% of each municipalities' housing stock be "affordable". A total of 29 communities are covered by the Act; 10 are exempt due to their percentage of rental housing and/or current affordable housing inventory. "Affordable" units are required to have a subsidy (State/local), with restrictions to assure they will remain affordable for a minimum of 30 years.

Exempt Communities

  • Central Falls
  • Cranston
  • East Providence
  • Newport
  • North Providence
  • Pawtucket
  • Providence
  • Warwick
  • West Warwick
  • Woonsocket

Staff Contact: Policy and Planning